ATTACHMENT DETAILS Saudi-Arabia-to-host-FIFA-Club-World-Cup-2023

FIFA World Cup: All Fixtures, Results, Goalscorers, and Group Standings – The Complete List

The FIFA World Cup, the most prestigious and widely watched football tournament, captivates millions of fans worldwide with its drama, skill, and passion. Hosted every four years, the World Cup brings together the best footballing nations to compete for the ultimate glory in the sport. In this comprehensive article, we will delve into the rich history of the FIFA World Cup, covering all fixtures, results, goalscorers, and group standings from the tournament’s inception to the present day. From iconic moments to unforgettable goals, let’s embark on a journey through the annals of football history.

What is the FIFA World Cup?
The FIFA World Cup is an international men’s football tournament organized by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). It is the pinnacle of competitive football, showcasing the talents of national teams from across the globe. The tournament attracts immense attention, uniting fans from different cultures and backgrounds to celebrate the beautiful game.

When did the FIFA World Cup begin?
The inaugural FIFA World Cup took place in 1930. The idea for a global football tournament was proposed by Jules Rimet, then-president of FIFA. The tournament was originally scheduled to be held in Uruguay to celebrate the country’s centenary of independence. However, due to the long travel distances involved, only a limited number of European teams participated in the first edition.

Where has the FIFA World Cup been hosted?
Since its inception, the FIFA World Cup has been hosted in various countries across the globe. Here is a list of host nations and their respective World Cup editions:

1930: Uruguay
1934: Italy
1938: France
1950: Brazil
1954: Switzerland
1958: Sweden
1962: Chile
1966: England
1970: Mexico
1974: West Germany
1978: Argentina
1982: Spain
1986: Mexico (second time)
1990: Italy (second time)
1994: United States
1998: France (second time)
2002: South Korea and Japan (co-hosted)
2006: Germany (second time)
2010: South Africa
2014: Brazil (second time)
2018: Russia
2022: Qatar (upcoming)
Who are the most successful teams in FIFA World Cup history?
Several footballing powerhouses have made their mark in World Cup history. As of the 2018 edition, the most successful teams in terms of victories are:

Brazil: 5 titles (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002)
Germany: 4 titles (1954, 1974, 1990, 2014)
Italy: 4 titles (1934, 1938, 1982, 2006)
Argentina: 2 titles (1978, 1986)
Uruguay: 2 titles (1930, 1950)
France: 2 titles (1998, 2018)
Why is the FIFA World Cup so popular?
The FIFA World Cup’s popularity stems from several factors. Football, as the world’s most beloved sport, has a universal appeal that transcends language, culture, and borders. The World Cup brings together the best players from different nations, offering a unique opportunity to witness top-tier talent compete at the highest level.

Furthermore, the tournament’s format, featuring intense knockout stages and thrilling group matches, adds to its excitement. The passion displayed by both players and fans, along with the thrill of witnessing unexpected upsets, creates an electrifying atmosphere that captivates viewers worldwide.

Which teams and players have been the standout performers?
Throughout the World Cup’s history, various teams and players have left a lasting impression with their performances. Some standout moments and players include:

a) Pele (Brazil): Widely regarded as one of the greatest footballers of all time, Pele’s performances in the 1958, 1962, and 1970 World Cups showcased his extraordinary skills and goal-scoring ability.

b) Diego Maradona (Argentina): Maradona’s iconic “Hand of God” goal and the “Goal of the Century” against England in the 1986 World Cup cemented his status as a footballing legend.

c) Ronaldo (Brazil): Ronaldo, known for his clinical finishing and goal-scoring prowess, played a pivotal role in leading Brazil to victory in the 2002 World Cup.

d) Miroslav Klose (Germany): Klose became the all-time leading goalscorer in World Cup history, scoring 16 goals in four tournaments (2002, 2006, 2010, 2014).

e) Germany 7-1 Brazil (2014): In one of the most astonishing results in World Cup history, Germany thrashed Brazil 7-1 in the semi-final of the 2014 World Cup.

Whose records stand out in FIFA World Cup history?
Several individual records stand out in World Cup history. Here are some noteworthy ones:

a) Most Goals in a Single World Cup: Just Fontaine of France scored 13 goals in the 1958 World Cup, a record that still stands.

b) Most Goals in World Cup History: Miroslav Klose holds the record for the most goals in World Cup history, scoring 16 goals in total.

c) Most World Cup Appearances: Lothar Matthäus of Germany and Antonio Carbajal of Mexico share the record for most World Cup appearances, with five tournaments each.

d) Youngest World Cup Goalscorer: Pelé became the youngest player to score in a World Cup, netting a goal at the age of 17 years and 239 days in the 1958 tournament.

e) Oldest World Cup Goalscorer: Roger Milla of Cameroon became the oldest goalscorer in World Cup history, scoring a goal at the age of 42 years and 39 days in the 1994 World Cup.


The FIFA World Cup stands as a symbol of unity and passion, captivating the hearts of football fans across the globe. From its humble beginnings in 1930 to its modern-day spectacle, the tournament has left an indelible mark on the world of sports. With legendary players, historic matches, and moments that transcend generations, the World Cup continues to weave the tapestry of football history. As fans eagerly await the next edition, the FIFA World Cup remains a timeless celebration of the beautiful game and the universal joy it brings to billions worldwide.